~||In The Face of Reality||~

He stands there falling into pieces

His mind slowly breaking apart

I tried to grab his attention

Instead my hands clung to his heart.

He cried out for he thought he was dying

The Never would be too scary to face

I closed the distance between us

So we now stood face to face.

Sobs prevented him from speaking

His organ beat steadily in my hands

The closeness was suffocating

Onlookers would misunderstand.

He placed a hand to his chest

I clasped his heart to mine

A sudden familiarity graced his face

I wonder if he truly knew how empty he was inside.



Josie Griffith
Written: Wed. 28th June, 2017

Leave a Reply

